You are here: Home Programs Honoring Industry Excellence Gold Medal

Gold Medal: Honouring Industry Excellence

WEC Gold Medal for International Corporate Achievement in Sustainable Development

    Nom pa09 smThe World Environment Center (WEC) is pleased to invite nominations for the 25th WEC Gold Medal for International Corporate Achievement in Sustainable Development for 2009.

    The WEC Gold Medal Award is one of the most prestigious ways of recognizing a global company's ongoing commitment to the practice of sustainable development. Only global manufacturing, processing or service corporations that can document well implemented, outstanding and sustained success are eligible to compete for the award. A potential applicant company must demonstrate global vision and a commitment to sustainable development through innovative application of policies, and international economic, environmental, and social responsibilities. An independent Jury of international leaders makes the Gold Medal recipient selection.

     2009 Gold Medal Award Nominations

    Nominations of eligible corporations must reach the WEC Gold Medal Secretariat, no later than Friday, June 2, 2008. Self-nominations are welcome. Nominations may be submitted by completing and returning the brief Nomination Form on page 4 in the attached brochure or online at

    After the Jury reviews this initial application, eligible candidates will be notified and invited to make full submissions by August 22, 2008. The attached 2009 WEC Gold Medal Award nomination brochure provides all the details about the schedule of the nomination and selection process.

    Click here to see a video from last year’s Gold Medal Presentation & Celebration.

    Past Recipients

    2007 - Alcan Photo of Award Presentation
    2006 – ABN AMRO Photo of Award Presentation
    2005 – Starbucks Coffee Company Photo of Award Presentation
    2004 - Johnson Controls Inc.
    2003 - Ricoh
    2002 - CEMEX
    2001 - Royal Dutch/Shell Group of Companies
    2000 - International Paper
    1999 - Eastman Kodak Company
    1998 - Philips Electronics N.V
    1997 - Compaq Computer Corporation
    1996 - Alcoa
    1995 - Ciba-Geigy Limited
    1994 - S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc.
    1993 - Xerox Corporation
    1992 - The Procter & Gamble Company
    1991 - Rohm and Haas Company
    1990 - IBM Corporation
    1989 - The Dow Chemical Company
    1988 - The BP Group
    1987 - E.I. duPontde Nemours & Co.
    1986 - Exxon Corporation
    1985 - 3M

    20th WEC Gold Medal Commemorative Album

    Archive of Jury Citations and Press Releases

    Document Actions